top of page

A Tribute to Dr. Victor Hao Li

When I was invited recently to give a presentation at the East West Center at the University of Hawaii, I was looking forward to seeing Victor Li, my former professor, mentor and friend.

Victor--who was regarded as a legal and geopolitical genius--was known as the Boy Professor at Stanford Law School. A fully tenured professor, he was younger than some of the students he taught. He played an important role in setting up the round of Ping Pong Diplomacy that led to the thawing of relations between the US and the then isolated People's Republic of China.

Victor was the President of the East West Center from 1980-1989. He made Hawaii his home after he left that position and started a firm with ex-Governor George Ariyoshi. I remember how much energy and enthusiasm both exuded when I visited them at their office a few years ago.

When I arrived at the Center last month, I asked about Victor, expecting to hear that he was in the conference room. I was told that he passed away in California; and I still find it hard to believe that he is no longer with us.

As a tribute to Victor's energy, intellect, and warmth, I have attached this picture of a recent sunset over Mount Hualalai on the Big Island of Hawaii.

bottom of page