top of page

Third encounter with President Jimmy Carter

While traveling in Portland, I had the good fortune of visiting Powell's Books. I bought an autobiography there and had it signed by Jimmy Carter.

This was actually my third meeting with him. When my daughter was at Emory University, he was on their board of trustees. He visited Tokyo where Fritz Mondale was the ambassador to Japan. Jennifer and I were invited to a reception. She spent time with Mondale, and I had the honor of spending time with Carter.

Anyway, a month later, I was on a plane in Frankfurt that was delayed--with no explanation from the captain. Finally, a guy who seemed like he was 7 feet tall stood next to my row of seats and said someone had something to say to us. This tiny guy with a big smile--Jimmy Carter--said, "I'm sorry, but my flight from the Middle East was delayed."

Imagine, the ex-President flying commercial to Atlanta! Then he said, "What are you doing in Frankfurt? Last time we met was in Tokyo." I was dumb-struck. I shared this story with a friend who was the spokesperson for several Australian PMs. He said that all the most winning politicians have a phenomenal memory for faces and names--and great rationalizations of what behavior is unethical for the voters but OK for them.


bottom of page